23 July 2022
You’re driving home from work and make a quick left turn to get into the correct lane. You aren’t going fast, but you do go over the posted speed limit. Just as you check your mirror to see if anyone is coming up behind you, you see flashing lights in your rear view. You’ve been caught by a traffic camera for speeding. So much for a relaxing drive home.
It has some of the highest speeding ticket fines in the country and punishments can last longer than you might think. Here’s what you need to know about speeding ticket fines in Texas so you don’t find yourself paying more than necessary or getting points on your license that could follow you for years.
Speeding Ticket Fines In Texas: What To Know
You should first be aware of what your fine will look like. Speeding fines are based on your speed, not the speed limit, so you could be fined as much for going five miles over the speed limit as you would be for speeding 10 miles over it.
As you might expect, going significantly over the limit will mean a higher fine, with the maximum fine equaling $200 for more than 30 miles over the speed limit in a non-commercial vehicle. Texas also has different fines based on what type of vehicle you were driving. The fines below apply to non-commercial vehicles. Commercial vehicles face fines that are doubled.
By How Much Are You Going Over The Speed Limit?
Another thing to think about when looking at Texas speeding ticket fines is what your speed is. If you are only a couple of miles over the speed limit, you could receive a ticket that is a bit more lenient than if you were going much faster.
The maximum fine for going over the limit by less than 10 miles is $75, but for only going one mile over the speed limit a ticket is $75 as well. If you are going a few miles over the limit, you’ll want to consider what happens when you get a ticket.
The Fine Is Only Part Of Your Punishment
The fines associated with speeding tickets are only part of what you have to worry about. What is also cause for concern is the length of time you’ll have a black mark on your driving record. In Texas, you’ll have points on your license for two years from the day of your violation. If you have a commercial driver’s license, the points will stay on your license for three years.
License Suspension And Point Accrual
If you’re on a path toward getting your license suspended, the best thing you can do is slow down. If you are caught driving while your license is suspended, you could face criminal charges, which could lead to even more fines and potential jail time. If you receive one ticket within three years, you could face suspension.
If you’re in an accident and get a ticket for speeding, it could be seen as negligent driving and could lead to significantly higher insurance premiums. If you want to avoid these consequences, slowing down is the best way to go. There could be other negative effects beyond the https://www.myimprov.com/defensive-driving/texas/tx-speeding-ticket-fines/.