An insight into the Bundesliga


24 October 2020

Views: 25

The Bundesliga refers to a top-class professional football league in Germany. The league is also claimed to have the highest number of stadium participants across the globe. The Bundesliga is also considered the primary football competition in Germany and was attended by 18 clubs. The league is based on promotion and relegation, which further depends on the performance of a particular side. The competition begins in August and ends in May. Most of the games are played on the weekends, ie. Saturdays and Sundays, whereas a few matches are held on weekdays.

All participants in the Bundesliga qualify for the DFB-Pokal. The Bundesliga champion qualifies for the DFL Supercup.

Bayern Munich has been the most successful side in the Bundesliga and claims the titles 23 times to date. They are the defending champions during the current 2014-15 season and have also maintained the leading spot on the league table so far this campaign. Other clubs that have won the Bundesliga titles include Borussia Dortmund, Borussia Mönchengladbach, VfB Stuttgart, Werder Bremen and Hamburger SV.

The Bundesliga is one of the most competitive and popular national leagues in the world and ranks third in Europe according to UEFA's league coefficient. The league matches are broadcast in more than 200 nations.

Bundesliga history

The Bundesliga was established in Dortmund in the year 1962, and its first season began in 1963. Both the organization and structure of the Bundesliga as well as other football leagues in the country have undergone frequent and massive changes to become what they are right now. The Deutscher Fußball-Bund first started the Bundesliga, but now it is regulated by the Deutsche Fußball Liga.

Structure & competition

The structure of the Budesliga is similar to that of other major leagues such as the English Premier League and La Liga or Spain Premier League. Each team meets each of the other sides once at their home ground and once in an away game. Previously, the winning side of a match was awarded two points, and a draw gave each of both sides a point, while the loser got nothing. However, according to changes in rules and regulations during the 1995-96 season, the winning side gets three points (max. Points).

The club, which collects maximum points at the end of the current season, is crowned with the Bundesliga title. The first three clubs at the Bundesliga table qualify directly for the Champions League group stage, while the fourth stained side enters the third qualifying round of the same competition. The two teams at the bottom of the league table relegate to the 2nd division, while the two leading sides of the 2nd Bundesliga get promotion. A two-legged play-off match is played between the third last team and the 3rd spotted side of the 2nd Bundesliga,
Disable Third Party Ads